Scottish Boundary Reviews

House of Commons Boundary Review

The House of Commons passed legislation to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600 and as a result constituency boundaries were redrawn and a consultation launched. The plans were later defeated in the House of Commons. For the 2015 Westminster General Election Parliamentary boundaries will remain as they were in 2010.

You can read my submission to the Scottish Boundary Commission on the changes that were proposed here:

My submission to the Boundary Commission

News Stories

28/11/11 Keep Milngavie and Bearsden together as one community – Jo

23/11/11 Changes to keep Kirky whole make sense

Local Press

30/09/2012 Kirkintilloch united again, but will boundary shake up be given green light (Kirkintilloch Herald)

27/09/12 LibDem revolt will block Bearsden boundary change (Milngavie and Bearsden Herald)

18/09/12 Swinson loses fight against boundary changes (Milngavie and Bearsden Herald)

02/11/11 MP Jo's fear for Bearsden (Milngavie and Bearsden Herald)

21/10/11 New boundaries threat to MP Jo Swinson (Milngavie and Bearsden Herald)

E-consultation - November 2011

As you may be aware, the House of Commons has passed legislation to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600. As such, the constituency boundaries are being redrawn, and the Boundary Commission for Scotland is currently consulting on its proposed new constituencies in Scotland.

This month therefore, rather than a "yes / no" question, I am seeking your views on the boundary proposals, so the question is:

What do you think of the proposed boundary changes for our area?
I will collate your responses and submit them to the Boundary Commission for Scotland.

Currently, the East Dunbartonshire constituency contains:

  • All of Milngavie
  • All of Bearsden
  • All of Bishopbriggs
  • All of Lenzie
  • All of Torrance, Baldernock, Balmore & Baldernock
  • Part of Kirkintilloch (West Kirkintilloch and the town centre)

Under the proposed boundary changes, those areas would be covered by two constituencies

  • Half of Bearsden (the Bearsden North ward) would join with West Dunbartonshire (Clydebank, Dumbarton & Vale of Leven) to become a new West Dunbartonshire & Bearsden constituency
  • The rest of the current East Dunbartonshire constituency would join with the parts of East Dunbartonshire Council currently excluded (the rest of Kirkintilloch, Lennoxtown, Milton of Campsie and Twechar) and the Kilsyth ward of North Lanarkshire to become a new East Dunbartonshire & Kilsyth constituency

You can see the full proposals for our area here:,669235,272288,684093and for the whole of Scotland here:

Of course if you wish you can also make your own submission to the Boundary Commission, by emailing or writing to Boundary Commission for Scotland, Thistle House, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5HD. The closing date is Wednesday 4th January 2012.

Holyrood Boundary Review

The Revised Recommendations for constituencies for the Scottish Parliament were published on 21 May 2009 for public consultation until 21 June 2009. 

I was firmly against the plans for our area which included splitting Milngavie and Bearsdeb.  See below for my submission and further news stories.

Proposal for Clydebank and Milngavie

Proposal for Strathkelvin and Bearsden

My submission to the Boundary Commission

News Stories

15/01/10 Jo welcomes new regional boundary proposals

22/06/09 Jo calls on Boundary Commission to change Scottish Parliament proposals

22/05/09 “Milngavie and Bearsden belong together” – Swinson

05/09/08 Jo slams Labour plan to split Milngavie and Bearsden

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.