November 2011: Scottish Boundary Review

As you may be aware, the House of Commons has passed legislation to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600. As such, the constituency boundaries are being redrawn, and the Boundary Commission for Scotland is currently consulting on its proposed new constituencies in Scotland.

This month therefore, rather than a “yes / no” question, I am seeking your views on the boundary proposals, so the question is:

What do you think of the proposed boundary changes for our area?

I will collate your responses and submit them to the Boundary Commission for Scotland.

Currently, the East Dunbartonshire constituency contains:

  • All of Milngavie
  • All of Bearsden
  • All of Bishopbriggs
  • All of Lenzie
  • All of Torrance, Baldernock, Balmore & Baldernock
  • Part of Kirkintilloch (West Kirkintilloch and the town centre)

Under the proposed boundary changes, those areas would be covered by two constituencies

  • Half of Bearsden (the Bearsden North ward) would join with West Dunbartonshire (Clydebank, Dumbarton & Vale of Leven) to become a new West Dunbartonshire & Bearsden constituency
  • The rest of the current East Dunbartonshire constituency would join with the parts of East Dunbartonshire Council currently excluded (the rest of Kirkintilloch, Lennoxtown, Milton of Campsie and Twechar) and the Kilsyth ward of North Lanarkshire to become a new East Dunbartonshire & Kilsyth constituency

You can see the full proposals for our area here:,669235,272288,684093and for the whole of Scotland here:

Of course if you wish you can also make your own submission to the Boundary Commission, by emailing or writing to Boundary Commission for Scotland, Thistle House, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5HD. The closing date is Wednesday 4thJanuary.

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.